Working on Csound/examples and Csound book instruments folders…

When you install Csound, there’s an “examples” folder that gets created. I have to admit that I had a lot of frustration trying to figure out what those files were and how to use them. A few are .csd files that you can just run using the basic Csound5gui or something, but others were more cryptic. If I can digress into a short rant, what is the problem with putting comments in code, or even writing something as simple as a “readme” file? For some of those programs, it’s obvious that it took many, many hours to write them, why not spend an extra 5 minutes writing some comments that will help people understand what they’re supposed to do?

In any case, I’ve gone through most of the files in that directory and have tried to run them and understand what their functions are. I will post my notes in a few days once I’ve pulled them all together.

Meanwhile, on CD #1 that comes with the Csound Book (see under “What you need”), there’s a folder called “instruments”. This is a collection of Csound instruments, as .orc and .sco files from various Csound gurus. I thought it would be a good exercise to go through all these and see which ones might be useful as soft synths or instruments to use as bases for my own.

There’s also a folder called “accci” which is the “Amsterdam catalog”. When extracted, the file names are broken such that the HTML doesn’t work. I fixed those names and got the thing running now. (See the end of this post for the cunning python script that I used) It’s a very good tutorial on instruments from very simple to more complex ones.

I haven’t quite got all this information finalized, but I wanted to report on it since, if it’s useful to me, it seems likely that it should be useful to someone else as well.

A Python script to fix broken references in the accci/ tree

Leave a Reply

